Dublin, Ireland June 2015

The following are my tentative plans for the first leg of our trip, which will take place in Dublin, Ireland from June 1 – June 4. While most of my journey will not have a single set plan, for the first week I will be with friends, and would like to make sure they have a blast while on the other side of the world. Also, from my experience in Costa Rica, plans change constantly. Therefor, most of my experiences are not reserved and will be completed depending on time (which is of the essence). So if you are Kayla or Sarah please stop reading now to preserve an element of surprise!

June 1st, 2015

Sarah and I land in Dublin about 1000. Our first destination is the Dublin Tourist Office (http://www.touristofficedublin.com/) to get as much information as possible and most likely drop off our luggage. Assuming we’ll be hungry after the flight, lunch will be Bobo’s Burgers (http://www.bobos.ie/). Two of the first sights I’d like to see are Dublin Castle (http://www.dublincastle.ie/) and The Science Gallery at Trinity College (https://dublin.sciencegallery.com/). I am hoping we will still have time for the National Gallery of Ireland (http://www.nationalgallery.ie/) and the Kilmainham Gaol (http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/kilmainhamgaol/) which is cheaper now because of renovations. After as much sight-seeing as possible, Sarah and I have a Tapas Tour booked for dinner, which sounds pretty awesome (http://www.tapastrail.com/). Being a three-hour trail, not much will be open afterward. I plan on hitting up the Temple Bar District (http://www.templebar.ie/) as much as possible, so that is most likely where we’ll spend the first evening. If you diligently check my updates, I’m sure you’ll see me here quite a bit (http://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar)!!! And screenshots would be appreciated 🙂

June 2nd, 2015

Early the next morning we will meet up with Kayla, who is flying in around 0600. I figured we could eat breakfast at the Queen of Tarts (http://www.queenoftarts.ie/) then head over to my favorite, the Jameson Distillery (https://www.jamesonwhiskey.com/us/agegate) and, since we’re already drinking before noon, the Guinness Storehouse (http://www.guinness-storehouse.com/en/Index.aspx). After as many free samples as they will legally allow, we will lounge off our collective buzz at the Phoenix Park (http://www.phoenixpark.ie/) followed by St. Stephen’s Green (http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/dublin/ststephensgreen/). I’m sure by this point we’ll be famished, so I have planned lunch at the Green Bench Cafe (http://greenbenchcafe.com/). At 1430 we have a walking tour booked with Pat Liddy (http://www.walkingtours.ie/) which will take up most of the afternoon. We are going to eat an early dinner this day because of later plans, so after that we’ll head to the Chapter One Restaurant (http://www.chapteronerestaurant.com/). By 1930 we have to be at The Gate Theater for the tickets I bought for The Gigli Concert (http://www.gatetheatre.ie/production/TheGigliConcert2015), which is fairly hilarious based on the facts of the situation. And thus ends another evening in Ireland, possibly with a return to the Tempe Bar District.

June 3rd, 2015

Breakfast on Wednesday will be at the Bakehouse (http://the-bakehouse.ie/). The late morning/early afternoon will be spent on more sight-seeing, such as the Trinity College Library (https://www.tcd.ie/Library/), the Glasnevin Cematary Museum (http://www.glasnevintrust.ie/visit-glasnevin/tours-of-glasnevin/) and the Celtic Whiskey Shop (https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/). That should bring us to lunchtime, around 1300, which will DEFINITELY end at the Cake Cafe (http://www.thecakecafe.ie/). At 1430 we have reservations for a matinee at the Bord Gais Energy Theater (http://bordgaisenergytheatre.ie/index.php/artist/top-hat). It’s a musical called ‘Top Hat’ that I hope will be enjoyed by all. Following the theater, we’ll tour the Dublin Nation Botanic Gardens (http://www.botanicgardens.ie/) and eat dinner at The Boxty House (http://boxtyhouse.ie/). The last reservation I have is at 2000 at Anseo for a comedy show entitled ‘Laugh Out Loud’ (http://www.comedyireland.ie/gig-listings/action~agenda/exact_date~2-6-2015/).

We fly to Rome in the early morning hours of June 4th. Other than that, while in Ireland most of our extra daylight time will be spent on Grafton Street, Dublin’s cultural district (http://graftonstreet.ie/) and most of our evening time will be spent on Tempe Bar. I really feel that I should be a travel agent after all the amazing events I set up. Stay tuned for updates, which will be the four days we spend in Italy, followed possibly by ideas of activities in Ljubljana, which is where Kayla and I will spend several days before she flies back Stateside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *